Texas Board of Nursing For Office Use Only:
A P R N 333 Guadalupe, Ste. 3-460, Austin, TX 78701-3944 Amount
Reactivation Phone: 512-305-7400 -- Web Site: www.bon.texas.gov
Date Rec’d

Reactivation Application for Recognition as an Advanced Practice Nurse
For those nurses whose authorization to practice as an Advanced Practice Nurse in Texas is inactive or delinquent

Continuing Competency Certificates must accompany reactivations. Fees are non-refundable.

Make check or money order payable to the Texas Board of Nursing. The application and payment are valid for one year from the date of receipt in the
Board’s office and all licensure requirements must be met within that timeframe.

REACTIVATE APRN: ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS:

[ 1 APRNREACTIVATION Fee: $50.00 1. Copies of Continuing Competency Certificates or Supporting
Documents -- please seeinstructions

PRESCRIPTIVE AUTHORITY (Rx Auth.) 2. Copy of current national certification, ifrequired

[ ] REACTIVATE PRESCRIPTIVE AUTHORITY 3. Copy of current RN license from Compact State, ifapplicable

**No fee is required**

Name(Last): (First): (M):

Legal documentation is required for a name change (see 22TAC §217.7)

RN License Number: Social Security Number: - - Date of Birth: / /
Mo Day Yr
(Address) (City) (State/Country) (Zip/Postal Code)
(E-Mail Address) Business Fax Number

*For statistical information, please use the statistical code sheet provided

*Employment Status: *Primary Practice Setting: *Primary Practice Position:

*Primary Specialty: *Highest Degree: Primary Employment Zip:

Indicate the APRN titles(s) (role & specialty) you wish to have reactivated (see last page for titles):

Indicate the month and year that you last practiced in the above advanced specialty/role(s): Month Year

You are required to have practiced in the advanced role and specialty you wish to reactivate for at least 400 hours in the past two years. (Refer
to Board Rule 221.4(3)) Please provide the requested information about the location where you obtained the required hours of clinical
practice. If you had more than one employer or preceptor, use a separate sheet to list the following information:

Employer Name: Phone Number:
Address:

City, State:

Your Position Title Area of Practice

** Please note that your business fax number is being collected for use by an emergency relief program, as authorized by the Texas Occupations
Code §8301.206 and is confidential and not subject to disclosure.
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Licensee’s Name: License Number: Page 2 of 3

Continued:

[ TNo [ ] Yes | have completed 20 contact hours of continuing competency in the advanced role and specialty
listed above (and an additional five (5) contact hours in pharmacotherapeutics ifreactivating prescriptive
authority) within the lasttwo years in accordance with 22 TAC Chapter 216. If yes, enclose a copy of CE
certificate(s).

[ TNo [ ]Yes Ihave completed 400 hours of current practice in the above advanced practice role and specialty
within the last twoyears.

[ INo [] Yes | hold current national certification in the above advanced specialty. A copy of the current

national certification document(s) mustaccompany this form. Ifyou graduated after 12/31/95,
you must be certified or have completed the requirements for waiver.

Nurse Licensure Compact:

In accordance with the Nursing Practice Act, section 304.001, art. 4 and 22 TAC 8220.2, check one of the following:

o ldeclare Texas as my primary state of residence and | have provided a Texas address. | am eligible for a Compact
Texas License (if applicable, once you receive the Texas license, your other compact state license(s) will be
inactivated).

| declare Texas as my primary state of residence but | have not provided a Texas address. | am eligible for a Single
State Texas License only. (NOTE: If the address you provide is in a Compact State, the BON may seek clarification prior to renewing
the license)

o |lam declaring a Non-Compact State as my primary state of residency. My permanent residence is not Texas, however,
it is a state not participating in the Nurse Licensure Compact. | am eligible for a Single State Texas License only.
(You may visit https://www.ncsbn.org/Implementation_dates_list.pdf for a listing of participating states) | declare that
the State of is my primary state of residence and that such constitutes my
permanent and principal home for legal purposes.

o lam declaring another Compact State as my primary state of residency. My permanent residence is not Texas, and isa
state participating in the Nurse Licensure Compact. Please put my Texas license on Inactive Status. (You may visit
https://www.ncsbn.org/Implementation_dates list.pdf for a listing of participating states) | declare that the State of

is my primary state of residence and that such constitutes my permanent

and principal home for legal purposes.

o | am employed exclusively in the US military (Active Duty) or with the U.S. Federal Government and am
requesting a Texas single-state license regardless of my primary state of residence. | declare that the State of

is my primary state of residence and that such constitutes my permanent

and principal home for legal purposes.

Upon licensure in Texas, in which state(s) do you intend to practice (list all states that apply);
electronically '

telephonically , or

physically



http://www.ncsbn.org/Implementation_dates_list.pdf
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Licensee’s Name: License Number: Page 3 of 3

Eligibility Questions - Answering the questions below and signing the form is mandatory.

1) [ 1No [] Yes *Have you, within the past 24 months or since your last renewal, for any criminal offense, including those
pending appeal:

been arrested and have any pending criminal charges?

been convicted of amisdemeanor?

been convicted of afelony?

pled nolo contendere, no contest, or guilty?

received deferred adjudication?

been placed on community supervision or court-ordered probation, whether or not adjudicated
guilty?

been sentenced to serve jail, prison time or court-ordered confinement?

been granted pre-trialdiversion?

been cited or charged with any violation of the law?

been subject of a court-martial; Article 15 violation; or received any form of military judgment/
punishment/action?

mmoow>

“—Io

(You may only exclude Class C misdemeanor traffic violations or offenses previously disclosed to the Texas Board of Nursing on aninitial
licensure or renewal application.)

NOTE: Expunged and Sealed Offenses: While expunged or sealed offenses, arrests, tickets, or citations need not be disclosed, it is
your responsibility to ensure the offense, arrest, ticket or citation has, in fact, been expunged or sealed. It is recommended that you
submit a copy of the Court Order expunging or sealing the record in question to our office with your application. Failure to reveal an
offense, arrest, ticket, or citation that is not in fact expunged or sealed may subject your license to a disciplinary order and fine. Non-
disclosure of relevant offenses raises questions related to truthfulness and character. (See 22 TAC §213.27)

NOTE: Orders of Non-Disclosure: Pursuantto Tex. Gov't Code § 552.142(b), if you have criminal matters that are the subject of an
order of non-disclosure you are not required to reveal those criminal matters on this form. However, a criminal matter that is the subject
of an order of non-disclosure may become a character and fithess issue. Pursuant to the Gov't Code chapter 411, the Texas Board of
Nursing is entitled to access criminal history record information that is the subject of an order of non-disclosure. If the Board discovers
a criminal matter that is the subject of an order of non-disclosure, even if you properly did not reveal that matter, the Board may require
you to provide information about any conduct that raises issues of character and fitness.

2) [ ] No [ ] Yes *Are you currently the target or subject of a grand jury or governmental agency investigation?

3) [ ] No [] Yes Has any licensing authority ever refused to issue you a license or ever revoked, annulled, cancelled,
accepted surrender of, suspended, placed on probation, refused to renew a license, certificate, or multi-
state privilege held by you now or previously, or ever fined, censured, reprimanded, or otherwise disciplined
you? (You may exclude disciplinary actions issued by the Texas Board of Nursing and disciplinary actions
previously disclosed to the Texas Board of Nursing on an initial licensure or renewal application.)

4) [ ] No [] Yes *In the past 5 years, have you been diagnosed with or treated or hospitalized for schizophrenia or other
psychotic disorder, bipolar disorder, paranoid personality disorder, antisocial personality disorder, or
borderline personality disorder which impaired or does impair your behavior, judgment, or ability to
function in school or work? (You may answer “No” if you have completed and/or are incompliance with
TPAPN for mental illness OR you’ve previously disclosed to the Texas Board of Nursing and have
remained compliant with your treatment regime and have had no further hospitalization since disclosure.)

5 [ 1No [ ]Yes *Inthe past5 years, have you been addicted to or treated for the use of alcohol or any other drug? (You
may answer “no” if you have completed and/or are in compliance with TPAPN)

| attest that | understand and meet all the requirements to practice for the type of renewal requested. | understand that no one else
may submit this form on my behalf and that | am accountable and responsible for the accuracy of any answer or statement on this
form. Further, | understand that it is a violation of 22 TAC §217.12(6)(1) and the Penal Code, sec. 37.10, to submit a false statement
to a governmental agency.

Sign: Date:
(SIGNATUREREQUIRED)

*Pursuant to the Texas Occupations Code §301.207, information, including diagnosis and treatment, regarding an individual’s physical or mental
condition, intemperate use of drugs or alcohol, or chemical dependency and information regarding an individual’s criminal history is confidential
to the same extent that information collected as part of an investigation is confidential under the Texas Occupations Code §301.466.

NOTE: IF YOU ANSWERED “YES” TO #1-5 PLEASE REFER TO INSTRUCTIONS Revised 06/2015



STATISTICAL CODES

HIGHEST DEGREE:

DIPLOMA

ASSOCIATE DEGREE
BACCALAUREATE IN NURSING
MASTERS IN NURSING
DOCTORATE IN NURSING

EMPLOYMENT STATUS:

EMPLOYED IN NURSING FULL TIME
EMPLOYED IN NURSING PART TIME
EMPLOYED IN OTHER FIELD FULL TIME
EMPLOYED IN OTHER FIELD PART TIME
UNEMPLOYED, RETIRED OR INACTIVE

PRIMARY PRACTICE SETTING:

Revised 3/2016

INPATIENT HOSPITAL CARE

OUTPATIENT HOSPITAL CARE

SCHOOL OF NURSING

COMMUNITY/PUBLIC HEALTH
SCHOOL/COLLEGE HEALTH
SELF-EMPLOYED/PRIVATE PRACTICE
PHYSICIAN OR DENTIST/PRIVATE PRACTICE
RURAL HEALTH CLINIC

FREESTANDING CLINIC

HOME HEALTH AGENCY

MILITARY INSTALLATION

TEMPORARY AGENCY/NURSING POOL
NURSING HOME/EXTENDED CARE FACILITY
BUSINESS/INDUSTRY

OTHER:

PRIMARY PRACTICE POSITION:

ADMINISTRATOR OR ASSISTANT
CONSULTANT

SUPERVISOR OR ASSISTANT
FACULTY/EDUCATOR

HEAD NURSE OR ASSISTANT
STAFF NURSE/GENERAL DUTY
NURSE PRACTITIONER
CLINICAL NURSE SPECIALIST
NURSE ANESTHETIST

NURSE MIDWIFE
INSERVICE/STAFF DEVELOPMENT
SCHOOL NURSE

OFFICE NURSE

RESEARCHER

OTHER:

* TEXAS BOARD OF NURSING APPROVAL REQUIRED

PRIMARY SPECIALTY:

1=
2=
3=
4 =
5=
6=

COMMUNITY/PUBLIC HEALTH

GENERAL PRACTICE

GERIATRICS

OBSTETRICS/GYNECOLOGY
MEDICAL/SURGICAL

PEDIATRICS

PSYCHIATRIC/MENTAL HEALTH/SUBSTANCE ABUSE
ANESTHESIA

EMERGENCY CARE

HOME HEALTH

INTENSIVE/CRITICAL CARE
NEONATOLOGY

ONCOLOGY

OPERATING/RECOVERY CARE
REHABILITATION
OCCUPATIONAL/ENVIRONMENTAL HEALTH
OTHER:



Reactivation Application for Recognition as an Advanced Practice Nurse

This form is for reactivation of APRN authorization for those RNs. who were previously authorized as an Advanced Practice
Nurseinthe state of Texas and who currently have aninactive or delinquent APRN authorization in Texas. Please see Rule

221.8 and 221.10 to review the requirements for reactivation and maintaining authorization as an APRN. You must reactivate to
the same title that you previously held.

If you have not practiced within your advanced role and specialty for at least 400 hours within the past two years, you are not
eligible to complete this form. Please review the APN Refresher Course/Extended Orientation Information that is available on
the Advanced Practice section of the Texas Board of Nursing website: http://www.bon.texas.gov

1. Print legibly in black ink. Answer all questions and statements (do not leave any blanks).
2. Submit the appropriate fee.
3. If you currently hold a valid RN license in a state that has entered the Nurse Licensure Compact (also referred to as

party state) and permanently reside in the party state, please attach a copy of your RN license from the party
state. Please be advised that the Compact privilege only extends to those nurses who permanently reside in the
party state. If you move to Texas or your primary state of residence changes, you may need to obtain a Texas RN
license. If you have questions regarding whether you need to obtain a Texas RN license, please contact the Board
office at (512) 305-7400 during normal business hours.

4, You must attach a copy of your continuing competency certificates. Do not send the originals as they will not
be returned to you. The continuing competency rules require anyone who wishes to reactivate APN authorization to
show evidence of having completed 20 contact hours of acceptable continuing competency targeted for the advanced
role and specialty with the two years immediately preceding the application for reactivation. If you are
reactivating your prescriptive authority, an additional five (5) contact hours must be completed in
pharmacotherapeutics. Nurse Anesthetists: Please note that we are unable to accept a copy of the AANA
continuing education transcript or a copy of your Council on Recertification card as proof of continuing competency.

5. If you completed your advanced educational program after 12/31/95, you must attach a copy of your current
national certification in the advanced role and specialty for which you are requesting reactivation. This
requirement may be waived only when there is no certification exam in your advanced specialty and no alternate
exam has been recognized by the Board. The waiver must be requested in writing.

6. Processing time is within ten (10) business days once the Board office has received the application, fee, and all the
required supporting documents. We are unable to process incomplete applications; therefore, it is your
responsibility to ensure all the questions are answered, all the required documents are enclosed, and your
address iscorrect.

ACTIVE APPLICATIONS

An application and payment are considered to be active for up to one year from the date of receipt in the Board’s office per our
Records Retention Policy. All licensure requirements must be met within that year’s timeframe or the application and payment
will be considered null and void. Should this occur, a new application and payment would need to be submitted; and the nurse
will need to meet all current requirements in effect at that time.


http://www.bon.texas.gov/

PRIMARY STATE OF RESIDENCE

Declaring a compact state, other than Texas, will cause your renewal to be rejected since you can practice in Texas on your
declared compact state license. In addition, the BON reserves the right to seek clarification when needed. Per Rule 220.2(b),
primary state of residence is determined by the following documents and you may be requested to submit one or more to
satisfy residency requirements:

(1) a driver’s license with a home address;

(2) voter registration card displaying a home address;

(3) federal income tax return declaring the primary state of residence;

(4) Military Form No. 2058 - state of legal residence certificate; or

(5) W2 from US Government or any bureau, division or agency thereof indicating the declared state of residence.

For more information regarding the compact, visit our website at www.bon.texas.gov or the National Council of State Boards of
Nursing’s website at https://www.ncsbn.org/nlc.htm.

NAME CHANGE

Foraname change, youmustsubmitacopyofthelegaldocumentation, e.g., marriage license, notarized statementor divorce
decree that states the name change.


http://www.bon.texas.gov/
https://www.ncsbn.org/nlc.htm

GENERAL INSTRUCTIONS - Continued

APRN CERTIFICATION FORREACTIVATION

Board Rule 221.8 addresses the requirements that must be met in order to maintain licensure as an APRN. Board
Rule 221.8(a)(1) addresses the requirement related to maintaining national certification/recertification in order to be
eligible to maintain the APRN

If it has been more than 24 calendar months since you last practiced as an APRN, you are not eligible to reactivate
your APRN authorization at this time. Review Rule 221.8 and 221.10 for requirements to reactivate and maintain authorization
as an APRN.

You must attach a copy of your national certification document for each advanced practice title you reactivate. The
national certification document must bear an expiration date. Do not send the originals as they will not be returned to you.
Failure to demonstrate current national certification as required by Rule 221.8 will render the APRN ineligible to reactivate
his/her APRN license; however, the RN license can still be reactivated if all other renewal requirements are met. Failure to meet
the requirements outlined in Rule 221.8 while practicing as an APRN may render a licensee subject to disciplinary action,
including a disciplinary order and a fine.

CONTINUING COMPETENCY

For any Texas APRN authorization less than two years old, the APRN renewal requirements (2) & (4) (as listed above)
pertaining to CE and 400 practice hours are waived. NOTE: If APRN CE & 400 practice hours are waived, but your Texas RN
license is beyond the first renewal, then you must have 20 hours of CE for your RN license. You must attach a copy of your
continuing competency certificates. Do not send the originals as they will not be returned to you. The continuing
competency rules require you to complete 20 contact hours of acceptable continuing competency targeted for the advanced
role and specialty within the two years immediately preceding the application for reactivation. If you are reactivating your
prescriptive authority, an additional five (5) contact hours must be completed in pharmacotherapeutics. Nurse
Anesthetists: Please note that we are unable to accept a copy of the AANA continuing education transcript or a copy of your
Council on Recertification card as proof of continuingcompetency.

*The Board's APRN continuing competency requirements under Rule 221.8 are in lieu of RN required CE under Rule 216.
Only 20 hours of CE are required. Category | Continuing Medical Education (CME) will meet requirements for continuing
competency.

"A registered nurse who practices professional nursing or a vocational nurse who practices vocational nursing after the
expiration of the nurse’s license is an illegal practitioner whose license may be revoked or suspended.” Texas Occupations
Code § 301.301(f).

We are unable to process incomplete applications; therefore, it is your responsibility to ensure all the questions are answered, all
the required documents are enclosed, and your address is listed correctly.

APRN Titles/Specialties:

Nurse Anesthetist (CRNA) Nurse-

Midwife

Nurse Practitioner: Clinical Nurse Specialist:
Acute Care Adult Adult Health/Medical-Surgical Nursing
Acute Care Pediatric Community Health Nursing
Adult Critical Care Nursing
Family Gerontological Nursing
Gerontological Pediatric Nursing
Neonatal Psychiatric/Mental Health Nursing
Pediatric Other (must specify specialty area)

Psychiatric/Mental Health Women’s Health
Other (must specify specialty area)



GENERAL INSTRUCTIONS - Continued

If you answered yes to questions 1-5 of the Eligibility Questions on page 2, you must provide the Board
with the following information:

*QUESTION #1. The Board has determined that criminal behavior is highly relevant to an individual's fitness to practice
nursing. Therefore, all criminal convictions or deferred orders, prosecution, or adjudication-a determination by a court thatis
withheld or delayed for a specific time period, must be reported to the Board. This question includes offenses under the law
of another state, federal law, or the Uniform Code of Military Justice that contains elements of criminal conduct. SUBMIT a
personal letter of explanation describing each incident, the behavior that led up to the criminal order and your conduct since
the order, and any rehabilitative efforts that have been performed since the order. In addition, SUBMIT the following
documentation for all felonies, all misdemeanors, and all military actions:

Certified copies of:
1.  charges (indictment, information, or complaint);
2. disposition of charges (Judgment, Order of Probation, Sentence, and/or Deferred orders); and
3. evidence that the conditions of the court have been met.

(To obtain this documentation, contact the county clerk in the jurisdiction where the order was issued for misdemeanors;
district court clerk forfelonies.)

You may answer “NO” to the question of prior convictions only if you: (a) received a pardon; or (b) were adjudicated as a
minor without a finding of “delinquent conduct’. If you were ever required to register as a sex offender, you must answer
“YES”.

If you have questions regarding the outcome of any criminal matter, consult your attorney.

*QUESTION #2. The Nursing Practice Act provides that a person’s conduct in violation of the Nursing Practice Act or rules of
the Board may be considered as a factor in its deliberations regarding fitness to practice nursing. Therefore, if a licensee or
applicant is the subject of a grand jury or governmental agency investigation, the information regarding conduct or behavior
giving rise to the investigation may be relevant in determining a violation of the Nursing Practice Act or lead to the
admissibility of relevant evidence of such violation. If you are the subject of a grand jury or governmental agency
investigation, please SUBMIT the name and address of the investigating entity and an explanation as to the basis of the
investigation.

QUESTION #3. The Board has determined that if any licensing authority has taken disciplinary action against a person for
any reason, then those actions are highly relevant to an individual’s current ability to practice nursing in the state of Texas. If
any licensing authority has refused to issue a license, revoked, annulled, cancelled, accepted surrender of, suspended,
placed on probation, refused to renew a license, certificate, or multi state privilege held by you or previously fined, censured,
reprimanded or otherwise disciplined you, SUBMIT the names and address of the licensing authority who has taken action
and a letter explaining the background of the action. Additionally, SUBMIT certified copies of:

1. formal charges or allegations supporting the licensure action;
2. final disposition of the licensing authority regarding those formal charges or allegations; and
3. evidence that the conditions of the licensing authority’s order or requirements have beenmet.



GENERAL INSTRUCTIONS - Continued

*QUESTION #4. The practice of nursing requires current fitness. The Board has identified certain disorders which, if
occurring within the last 5 years, may indicate a lack of fitness. The disorders are: schizophrenia and other psychotic
disorders, bipolar disorder, paranoid personality disorder, anti-social personality disorder, or borderline personality disorder. If
you have been diagnosed, treated, or hospitalized for any of the above illnesses within the last 5 years, which impaired or
does impair your behavior, judgment, or ability to function in school or work, submit the following information that will allow
the Board to conduct an individualized assessment of your ability to practice safely, competently, and without impairment to
your professional judgment, skill, or knowledge.

1. A report, on letterhead, from your physician, psychiatrist, psychologist or counselor, sent directly to this office, that
includes: your diagnosis; treatments rendered; including current medications; prognosis; cognitive, affective, and
emotional stability and continuing after-care recommendations, including reasonable accommodations needed to
safely practice nursing, if any; and,

2. Verification of compliance with aftercare recommendations.

Please be advised that a physical/psychological evaluation may be requested as part of your individualized assessment.

The evaluation process is described in more detail at www.bon.texas.gov/disciplinaryaction/eval-guidelines.html.

The evaluation process could potentially delay consideration of your reactivation. Therefore, the Board is providing advance
notice of this possibility so that applicants may contact the Board to schedule an evaluation at the beginning of the
reactivation process. By doing so, the reactivation should not be unduly delayed. An applicant is not required to contact the
Board in advance of Board consideration of the reactivation. The applicant may choose to wait for a specific decision by the
Board that a specific evaluation is necessary. This information is being provided to put applicants on notice with respect to
this potential requirement and afford the applicant the opportunity to expedite the process if he/she so desires.

*QUESTION #5. The practice of nursing requires current sobriety and fitness. If you have been addicted to or treated for the
use of alcohol or any other drug within the last five years, SUBMIT:

1. verification of treatment for substance abuse sent directly to the Board from the treatment center;

2. verification of compliance with aftercare recommendations;

3. evidence of continuing sobriety/abstinence, for example, current support group attendance and random drug testing
results; and

4. a personal letter of explanation with sobriety date and plan for relapse prevention.

*Pursuant to the Texas Occupations Code §301.207, information, including diagnosis and treatment, regarding an individual’s
physical or mental condition, intemperate use of drugs or alcohol, or chemical dependency and information regarding an
individual’s criminal history is confidential to the same extent that information collected as part of an investigation is
confidential under the Texas Occupations Code §301.466.

APRN Reactivation Form Checklist - (Do not return this sheet)

Have you answered all the questions on the reactivation form?

Have you signed and dated the reactivation form?

Have you enclosed the appropriate fee?

Have you completed 20 hrs of Continuing Competency that meet the criteria in 22 TAC Chapter 216 (if applicable)?
Worked 400 hrs in advanced specialty since last renewal?

If applicable, reactivating Prescriptive Authority?

If applicable, have you completed 5 hrs of CE in pharmacology?

If applicable, have you enclosed a copy of the current national certification document?

If applicable, have you enclosed a copy of your current Compact RN License?


http://www.bon.texas.gov/disciplinaryaction/eval-guidelines.html

APNTitles/Specialties:

Nurse Anesthetist (CRNA)Nurse-

Midwife

Nurse Practitioner:

Acute Care Adult

Acute Care Pediatric

Adult

Family

Gerontological

Neonatal

Pediatric

Psychiatric/Mental Health
Women’s Health

Other (must specify specialty area)

Clinical Nurse Specialist

Adult Health/Medical-Surgical Nursing
Community Health Nursing

Critical Care Nursing

Gerontological Nursing

Pediatric Nursing

Psychiatric/Mental Health Nursing
Other (must specify specialty area)



