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Proposed Amendment to 8 213.12, Relating to Witness Fees and Expenses

The proposed amendment to § 213.12 is to allow a witness who has been subpoenaed by the Board
or a party to a proceeding of the Board’s to receive adequate reimbursement for their mileage. The
rule was recently amended to increase the reimbursement rate to 48.5¢ for each mile, but due to the
rising cost of fuel, the reimbursement rate allowed by the IRS has been increased again to 50.5¢.
Staff requests that the rule be amended to allow the reimbursement rate to be tied to the federal
income tax regulations reimbursement rate, so that the rule does not have to be constantly amended.
Section 5.04 (Transportation Expenses) of the Texas General Appropriations Act states: “For a state
employees use of a personally owned or leased motor vehicle, the mileage reimbursement rate for
travel equals the maximum fixed mileage allowance specified in the revenue rulings issued by the
Internal Revenue Service under the federal income tax regulations as announced by the
Comptroller.” Staff requests that this language be incorporated into section 213.12. The proposed
language of the rule would be as follows:

§ 213.12. Witness Fees and Expenses.

A witness who is not a party to the proceeding and who is subpoenaed to appear at a deposition or
hearing or to produce books, papers, or other objects, shall be entitled to receive reimbursement for
expenses incurred in complying with the subpoena as set by the legislature in the APA, Texas
Government Code Annotated 82001.103. In addition, a subpoenaed witness is entitled to thirty
dollars ($30) for each day or part of a day that the person is necessarily present, and to mileage
reimbursement. The mileage reimbursement rate shall be equal to the maximum fixed mileage
allowance specified in the revenue rulings issued by the Internal Revenue Service under the federal
income tax regulations as announced by the Texas Comptroller 48:5¢centsforeachmtte- for going
to and returning from the place of the hearing or deposition if the place is more than 25 miles from
the person's place of residence, and the person uses the person's personally owned or leased motor
vehicle for the travel.

Recommended action: Move to propose the amendment to rule 213.12 and publish in the Texas
Register for the 30-day comment period. If negative comments are not received, then adopt the
amendment to section 213.12 as proposed.



